EligibilityYou may be eligible to attend a defensive driving class and have one (1) eligible charge for an alleged moving violation that is listed on your citation dismissed. If eligible you will not have to pay a fine, you will not receive any points on your driving record, and you will not be required to appear in court for that charge. You will be required to pay a fee when you attend the class. The defensive driving school you choose will provide you with payment information when you call to register for a class.
UNDER AGE 18 - If you are under the age of 18 do not register for a defensive driving class until you have appeared at the court with a parent on or before the date and time listed on your citation. After you appear in court you will be given a defensive driving class enrollment form with further instructions.
OUT OF STATE RESIDENTS - If you live outside of Arizona you may be eligible to participate in this program and attend a class that is located closer to your home. To participate in this program continue to follow the instructions listed below. If you are eligible, the defensive driving school you choose will coordinate your participation in the program and provide you with further instruction. If you participate in this program you will likely be required to pay a fee to a class provider in your area in addition to fees required in Arizona.
You may be eligible for this program if:
- The charge is listed as eligible on our Fine Schedule [PDF]
- You have not participated in the program within the last 12 months (based on violation date).
( New eligibility requirement for citations issued on or after 7/03/15).
- Your case does not involve an accident that resulted in a serious injury or death of any persons.
- You do not possess a Commercial Drivers License (CDL)
Please Note: If there is more than one (1) charge listed on your citation you may attend a defensive driving class for only one. In other words, if you enroll and attend a class only one (1) charge will be dismissed. For any remaining charges you must appear in court at the time and date listed on your citation, mail in the fine, or request a hearing, as described on our Plea by Mail Form [PDF]
How to Enroll in a Defensive Driving Class
STEP 1Refer to the Fine Schedule [PDF] to determine if the violation code associated with the charge listed on your citation is eligible for the program. If the violation code is not listed, the defensive driving school you choose will advise you if the violation code is eligible when you call to register for a class. If the charge is eligible proceed to STEP 2. If the charge is not eligible you must either plead “Responsible” (guilty) or “Not Responsible” (not guilty). To do this please refer to our Plea by Mail Form [PDF], mail, fax, or deliver the form to the court. The form must be received by the court prior to the appearance date listed on your citation. If you do not wish to complete our Plead by Mail Form you are required to appear at the court on the date and at the time listed on your citation.
STEP 2For a list of authorized defensive driving schools call 1-888-334-5565 or go online at: http://www.azdrive.com. After selecting a school call them promptly to obtain further information about eligibility, fees, and to register. You must enroll immediately and attend a class no later than 7 days prior to the court date listed on your citation. If you can not attend a class at least 7 days prior to your court date please come to the court on or before your court date to apply for and obtain a form that will grant you a ONE TIME 60 day extension to attend.
STEP 3Finally, for any remaining charges listed on your citation you must either plead “Responsible” (guilty) or “Not Responsible” (not guilty). To do this please refer to our Plea by Mail Form [PDF], mail, fax, or deliver the form to the court. The form must be received by the court prior to the appearance date listed on your citation. If you do not wish to complete the Plead by Mail Form, then you are required to appear at the court on the date and at the time listed on your citation.
After you complete a defensive driving class the court will be notified and one (1) charge will be dismissed.
Failure to complete the defensive driving class at least seven days prior to your court appearance date or driving school extension, may result in the entry of a default judgment and/or your driver’s license suspension with additional monetary penalties being imposed. A one time $20 Time payment will be applied, along with a $35 default fee and your case will be referred to the FARE collections program which will add an additional 19% surcharge to your balance.
Please Note/Specific Requirement:
Red Light Violations: Persons found responsible or entering a plea of responsible for red light traffic control signals, including flashing stop signal violations, will be ordered by the Motor Vehicle Division to attend and successfully complete Traffic Survival School or suffer suspension of your driving privileges.